I Can’t Say it Enough – A Poem

sad_fish

(Just found this poem in my Drafts section. I thought I’d publish it. It was during a time of grief, and it shows. For JM.)

I’m so sorry. I can’t say it enough.

Once an act is acted, there’s no unacting.

Once hurt, don’t count on mending.

Once cruel, there’s no forgetting.

Our common path cracked, and we were on opposite sides of it; our once road-to-Oz then lead nowhere.

Anguish, distress, grief and mourning are compatriots to guilt; all are my companions. In every season, in every town, in every moment I have alone with myself . . . these sit so near me that they touch my skin and pressure my shoulders; all remind me of my transgressions.

In your eyes I see hurt that I caused. Who knew I could hold such evil? Such power over others’ lives?

I’m so sorry. I can’t say it enough.

Leave a Reply

