~ Gladys ~

hess_gladys_albert2

My friend Gladys, a woman who was dedicated to her god, family, and friends passed away this morning. Not one day went by that Gladys did not earnestly pray. She suffered through a life of chronic illness but did not complain. She got on with the business of raising children, loving her husband Albert, and sharing her faith with others.

 

hess_gladys2

 

Nothing stops death from marching over our plans and extinguishing our flame.

I grieve tonight. My chest tightens when I stop diverting my attention with the TV and remember Gladys. Her voice still rings in my ears. I “hear” her soft words saying my name. We spent many afternoons in her living room in deep conversations about our families, problems, spiritual beliefs, and just about anything of interest (including her backyard full of birds).

 

hess_gladys1

 

I rarely realized the thrity years difference in age we had.

I love you, Gladys. I know you looked forward to meeting your savior face-to-face.  You leave behind many who miss you very much. I miss you ~

 

Hess_gladys_albert

Leave a Reply

