Top 10 New Year’s Resolutions

new_year_resolutions

 

 

 

 

 

 

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? I don’t believe I’ve made one in 15 years. I never stuck with them anyway. I’d like to make a few this year, and this made me wonder what America’s top 10 resolutions are. Here are the top ones I found:

1) Spend more time with family and friends
2) Exercise
3) Lose weight
4) Quit smoking
5) Enjoy life more
6) Quit drinking
7) Get out of debt
8) Learn something new
9) Help others
10) Get organized

Any of these sound familiar? I need to add numbers 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, and 10 to my personal list. ~ Ugh~

new-year-resolutions2

 

 

 

 

 

 

What are your resolutions? Do you want to work less and play more? That seems to be an extremely popular idea year-round, yet few manage to reach that goal. We get stuck in the day-to-day of life, and we forget (or deny) what is important to us.

I’ve been researching the Buddhist and Hindi faiths, as they are quite thought-provoking. Both cultures stress the tenet of living in the moment. You have likely heard this advice: yesterday is gone, and we aren’t promised a tomorrow, so we should live in the present. This is quite difficult to actually do because we’re always planlning the future and bringing up the past. Are we too fearful to even look at today?

live_in_the_moment

If I look at the here and now, I see problems. My real problems. I can’t ignore them and say, “In 17 months I’ll graduate from college and be making good money.”  I also tend to invite the past to sit on my shoulder and help me run things. Bad idea.

So, my 2013 New Year’s resolution will be one thing. Live in the moment – then I can change the grief and guilt of the past and work toward my goals for the future by how I behave today. I’m pretty sure if I live in the moment that numbers 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, and 10 above will take care of themselves.

Happy New Year!

 

One thought on “Top 10 New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

