Be Careful: Possible Differing Treatments for Depression vs Biploar 2 Disorder

Bipolar 2 disorder sufferers have episodes of hypomania which aren’t generally severe enough for them to think anything is “wrong.” They just seem to be in a great mood and feeling very social and creative. Their depressive states, however, are more severe. The sufferers tend to seek help while in a state of depression, therefore obtaining prescriptions for an antidepressants.

In a study by an Italian psychiatric disorders expert, Franco Benazzi, MD, PhD, says that studies show that antidepressants and a bipolar 2 patient may not make a good combination.

http://www.webmd.com/bipolar-disorder/news/20070315/antidepressants-risky-for-biopolar-disorder

Also, below is an excellent source of links and specific information on the use of antidepressants in those with bipolar. Very, very interesting material.

http://www.psycheducation.org/bipolar/controversy.htm

Take a look, ready a bit. Be informed, my dears.

5 thoughts on “Be Careful: Possible Differing Treatments for Depression vs Biploar 2 Disorder

  1. This very true. My psych is holding off on giving me an a-d to see how I do on just the mood stabilizer. I used to work at a research oriented university/hospital & when they studied an a-d people with Bipolar Disorder were disqualified because of the risk of trigger a manic episode. This is just one of the reasons I have against people getting a-d through their GP rather than a mental health professional.

    Also, when I was younger my manic/hypomanic episodes were of the fun & festive & productive variety. Now I just get out of my mind irritable & rage-y. I miss the mania of my youth.

  2. I finished my PhD in 3 years due largely in part to being in a chemically-induced hypomania from being on an SSRI (Paxil). I don’t recommend it! The crash afterward was horrible.

  3. 38 yr old marketing professional. I’ve been diagnosed bipolar 2 for 12 years, 1500mg of lithium a day. It took 5 years to find the right mix and now I also take 20mg of Lexapro ( Escitalopram) to assist with the depression, it’s only a small dose however the results speak volumes. We Tried every anti depressant out their before settling on this mix, without it I would not be able to maintain the work / life that I do. I Pulse in the occasional sleeping pill when mania does come knocking..

    1. I’m glad you found a mix that works for you! Makes such s difference! Have you tried Lamotrigine in place of lithium? My doc won’t prescribe lithium because of its possible long-term effects on my kidneys and thyroid.
      Thank you for your comment. It gives us hope. XO

Leave a Reply

