Major Depression: What Does it Feel Like?

“What does it feel like?”

That is what my daughter asked me a couple of days ago – referring to the crippling depression I was feeling. My daughter is 27, happily married, finished with two college degrees, and raising her first child. Her life is full of hope and dreams for the future. I hated to explain to her what my own colorless days were like. Downer!

Outside of my counselors, I don’t think anyone has asked me the question, “What does it feel like?” When Sarah asked me that question (via text), it touched my heart. To know how much she must love me, I mean.

So, I texted her back honestly, but briefly.

She said she wished she could do something to help me.

My mother texted me the same thing (wanting to help me feel better) yesterday. I told her to just keep loving me and letting me vent to her now and then. 😉

I love my family. They are what keep me putting one foot in front of the other.

What does it feel like, you ask?

Chest aches and feels heavy. Tears fill eyes and fall when the pressure hits red. Emotions are hopeless, futureless, aimless, apathetic, sadness, goal-less, joyless, fatigued body and mind. Not enough energy to even bathe (but I do, so my boyfriend doesn’t leave). Think grieving, but the loss is your own identity and autonomy.

So, there it was, and here it is. Today is about a 4 on a scale of 1-10 (one is the saddest). Yesterday was a 3. I guess I’ll go to the store. I need cat litter and cat food and to mail a letter.

Au revoir, mes amis!

8 thoughts on “Major Depression: What Does it Feel Like?

  1. I’m glad you’re family are so supportive. It’s funny, when i was drunk and upset – really i was depressed but i didn’t know it – i said to a friend that it was like i was mourning myself. I don’t think she quite understood me but reading this made me feel i’m not the only one. Thank you 🙂 xx

  2. I hear you, know EXACTY what you mean. Just keep trying, thats all I can say. Even when you are tired of trying. Its a long road back, with many bumps and turns, but you can get there 😉

  3. Been there. Good description, depression is like grieving. Everything hurts, mind, body and soul. On your scale, I was at 0 for the suicide attempts. Lived at 1 for so long. Now I think 8 is my average with dips down to 4. I know where I’ve been, in hopeless despair, and have made many changes in my life. You can beat it too. Hold on to hope and the love of those around you. You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

