Depression and Suicide

My last blog entries are downers. I post what’s on my mind, though.

I was reading today about statistics on depressive people and their rates of suicide. If you have 200 non-depressed people in a room, one of them will commit suicide. If you have 200 depressed individuals in a room, 50 of them will end their own lives. That is one fourth of them! THAT is a staggering statistic (Undoing Depression by Richard O’Conner, PhD).

I recently had to change my antidepressant again. Seems they only last me about a year or two before ceasing to work properly. I got very low again (as I do before I change meds). I began reading about my disorder from different sources. I found Dr. O’Conner’s book and am loving it. It’s  nice to know I’m not the only person who feels the weird ways I do.

Many depressives (those with depression) succeed at maintaining positive thoughts and productive lives. We take our prescribed medication, do some behavioral therapy with a counselor (if we aren’t, we should be), and trying to get in a bit of exercise and veggies each day.

We’re like the rest of the world, but we have a bit of a biochemical imbalance. Stress makes it worse, so it’s difficult to keep in check at times.

If you feel sad, hopeless, tired, heavy-hearted, and not caring about life in general, pick up a copy of Dr. O’Conner’s book.

If you are contemplating suicide, either call a suicide hotline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255). Another contact is at 1-800-784-2433. For the deaf, try this site:1-800-799-4TTY (4889).  Or you can take a look at  www.suicide.com to see that you are NOT the only person “out there” who feels like checking out, but ISN’T.

Don’t let depression win. I’m fighting hard to stand upright and live for my kids, my parents, my friends, and myself (a bit harder is to live for me, but I’m learning slowly).

CHECKING OUT is a pissy way to leave those who love you. I know. My dad did it.

I love you guys. Write any time.  leamilford@att.net

Leave a Reply

