A Glutton for Punishment?

I’ve noticed a pattern in my jobs of late. I’ve been working as a Psych Tech at a local psychiatric hospital. Since I’m not getting more hours (or more pay), I’ve been looking elsewhere for employment.

One must admit, it takes a “special” kind of person to work in the stressful and often violent psych field. I’m not sure it’s the place for me after all. I’m a toucher, nurturer, and a thin-skinned person. These attributes are not positives in a psych environment. I want to pat the kids’ backs or listen to the teens’ drama (in other words, become their friend). I want to hold a hand, give a hug, or feel free to turn my back for five seconds! LOL.

So, what did I do? I applied at a 24-bed hospice facility. Yeah, less stress? No. Just a different kind of stress. I do, however, think it will allow me to express my natural personality. So, my interview is next week. Should be interesting. Stay tuned . . .

Leave a Reply

